Role of a Producer (Week 1)

Hey there! it’s been a while since my last post and I will try and do one post every week now 🙂

This week I started a new course that is called “Big Game”, we have 10 weeks to do a game that will be presented on GGC(Gotland Game Conference) at the end of May. During this project I am going to be the producer which basically means that I will be  the one that knows everything about the process, thinks of everything that needs to be done and makes sure that people work and have fun while they are doing their work.

There is a lot to think about when you are the producer that I have not thought of and the pressure of doing well is always there. I think that the first week went well for our team but I felt that I could have done more. The things that I worked on was the design document, project plan and the scrum. This picture show the scrum we have in our office, each colour represents each individual person in the group(except the red and green one).

DSC03835

This system is really helpful to see how the week is going  which is way more fun to look at than the screen of a computer 😀

The project plan was something that I hadn’t done before and I had to think about a lot of things. When should things be done? What are the potential risks? and how do you plan on solving them? also the deadlines within the project. The thing I have learned by doing this plan is that if everything is written down, it becomes more real and people are more likely to follow it if it is on paper.

I could have handled a lot of things differently this week but it was a learning experience and I think that next week I will be more prepared for what I am suppose to do 🙂

One thought on “Role of a Producer (Week 1)

  1. […] based board, a concept I’ve had in mind for a while now (but the implementation i stole from Emelie. […]

Leave a comment