Day 2 – Error, Noku, sparkly poo and Clayhills

I woke up today feeling really tired but at least now I had a good night’s sleep. Today we knew where we were going so it was not as confusing as yesterday. This day was about technological performance and storytelling, which was kinda interesting in a way but the lecturer was all about showing movies that he had done. I wanted him to talk more about the topic instead of throwing movies in my face. Here’s a movie that he showed that I thought was good: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-HDaXVxJ6Dw
There was another intriguing thing that he had done and that was sort of like puzzle solving, the audience came to see a show but they were locked in and they had to find the key which was in the room. Our lecturer was chained down and he was the only one who knew where it was, they could either torture him to find out where it was or solve the puzzle to let him loose. This was really interesting because it was a game. I saw a lot of the possibilities that could be achieved with this.

The task that we were given was to find the errors in Tallinn, or define what error could be. With the term error he meant something that was not planned. Like he said, he wanted to make a soundbox but instead he made a radio reciever and that in itself was an error. Something that was not intentional. So when we were assigned groups my group went to a really cozy place called Noku. The strangest thing was that if you did not know that it was there then you would never find it. I found that to be very interesting. My group stayed there the entire time and we discussed different things that could be an error.

We thought that it could be brain errors like deja vu or something that was not meant to happen. However, the discussion took a turn for the worst when the word “Sparkly poo” came up. I thought it was a joke but they were dead serious. It was the most surreal and unlikely discussion that I have ever had. We made a video presentation about it and it was surprising that we actually stayed with the idea but the other two in my group really liked the sparkly poo.  Showing the video was really funny and it was a treat to see people react to it. I wish I had filmed it. It was definitely something that I would NEVER do as a serious workshop presentation. In retrospect it was a fun thing and an odd experience. 😛

After presenting me, Philip and Adam went to the gastropub Clayhills. It was a nice and relaxing evening that rounded up this day in a good way. The food was really good and we actually went for the dessert as well. I had the New York Strip Steak… yummy and then I had a selection of ice cream with berry sauce. It was really nice 😀

It’s going to be nice to sleep now and tomorrow Adam will talk about Non-linearity in game design and another lecturer will talk about Moving image and interactive story. Apparently we are going to be doing movies. It’s going to be interesting 😀 Hope you enjoyed this post! laters

Leave a comment