Day 3 – Design Design, Scopes, Von Krahl’s and Texas Honky Tonk Cantina

Today’s workshop was going to be about game design and interactive things. Adam held the lecture and most of it I had heard before but what I really want to get from his are his notes on non-linearity in games, which is something I want to know more about. The funny thing that Philip wrote in his notes that I am going to quote now is that “You know you are not in Visby when Adam has to explain what Zelda,Tetris and Wii is…”. This was indeed true, I am aware that people might not have heard of or played any of this but it was really surprising to learn. We come from a place where everyone knows what we are learning and talking about so it is sort of like a culture shock coming here where a lot of the other participants have no idea what games really are.

The other lecture that we had were about different kinds of scopes, with that I mean like different kinds of ways to portrait still pictures into moving ones. It was sort of interesting because I had no idea what these different things were called. However, he just showered us with difficult words like the first slide was of all the different scopes that he was going to go through and I felt that it was an overwhelming  way to start. It was interesting with the interactive part, making things so that it becomes interactive. An interesting example was Katerina Cizek’s project “Out My Window”. Feel free to check it out here: http://highrise.nfb.ca/

So the task for the day was to make something interactive with a narrative. Maybe something that used the youtube innotations so that you could choose how a story would end, it was all up to you. But first… lunch!

We went to this really nice place, I think it was like a theater bar or something called Von Krahl’s and it was a cozy place with writings on the wall and you could almost feel the theater in the air. I had the Von Krahl Burger which was alright but it became too much in the end and I had to stop eating, I think it was the cheese that did it 😛 During lunch we discussed different ideas on how we wanted to do this task. I got to express my idea of changing between people’s perspective. Like you follow one person, they see another person and suddenly the perspective is changed to the other person and the story takes another turn and continues on that other journey until it swaps again. We wanted to make it interactive so you the audience could choose which one you wanted to follow but we did not have time so we made the presentation verbally and manually choosing the fitting piece.

After this me and the guys went to the Texas Honky Tonk Cantina, which was really, really nice. First of all the service was amazing, our waitress was super good and was all in all a wonderful person. You would want someone like her in every place. When we exited she dropped what she was doing and walked us out which was a surprise. I had the Lone Star Steak here and it was good 🙂 but the mozzarella sticks was a disappointment but at least I shared that with someone else. The most surprising conversation today was that there were Adam and the other guys were talking about Miley Cyrus’s video wreaking ball and they were praising it. It would have been fun to get that stuck on video but the camera came up too late I am afraid to say.

Tomorrow is going to be about performing memories and augmented reality. I am looking forward to it and hopefully I won’t get disappointed as I was with some of the lecture’s that we’ve had. Until next time!

Leave a comment