Day 1 – Presentation, Maiasmokk and Hell Hunt

I survived the night! I went to the reception and asked for a blanket because as I said it was really cold. She looked at me in surprise and said “a blanket? no…”. She at least said she would look into it and call us when she knew, we were satisfied with that answer because we had a workshop to go to. Finding the Estonian Academy of Arts was quite easy, Philip and I were there in plenty of time and the one’s in the reception said fourth floor so we went to the fourth floor. I was a bit confused because they did not have any signs or indications on where this workshop would take place. When we looked around it became creepier and creepier because it looked like an old mental hospital. We waited until the time was 10 on the fourth floor then we made our way downstairs to try and figure this out. Adam, our teacher was supposed to meet us as well so we texted him and asked if he was on his way. He answered that he was in the lobby. But we are in the lobby Philip said. As it turned out we were in the wrong department, the right one was about a 15 minute walk in another direction… luckily some fellow workshop people happened to go to this place as well so we walked to the right place together which was nice. So to correct myself, finding the Academy of Arts was easy but finding the right department not that easy. πŸ˜›

When we arrived they had already started and we missed the introduction. We were however not late for the presentations πŸ˜› Our fellow latecomers were the ones that did theirs first and after that it was Philip, and then it was me. I was feeling really nervous because the ones before me had done some real interesting observations that I will talk about later. The talk was about Non-linearity, and I compared it with a puzzle that is not built in a consecutive order, bits and pieces are built separately and later connecting to tell the whole story. The thing that caught me off-guard was the question that one of the teachers that put this workshop together asked: “Is there anything that has happened to you recently that has been non-linear?” As per usual my mind went black. I almost thought how would I get out of this one. But according to Philip I managed it pretty well. πŸ˜€
The things that I thought was interesting that was argued about was that our mind is linear, but is it really? isn’t it non-linear? it’s quite interesting if you look at it like that. In a sense our mind can be linear but change just as quickly as something directs your thoughts someplace else and make you forget the thing that you were thinking about. There was this one girl that did a really good presentation in a non-linear way. I do wish that I had recorded it but you can’t get everything.

After the presentation people wanted coffee so some of us went to find ourselves a coffee shop. What we found was Maiasmokk which was a really cosy place and Philip said that they had the best coffee he had ever tasted, so we are probably going to go back there soon. We stayed there for an hour or two not sure and we talked mostly about things that interests us. It was a bit awkward because when we got into the subject of games, then some people looked lost and just nodded to agree on things. After this I was starving and we walked to a bar/restaurant.Β Hell Hunt. This was the restaurant and they had really nice food there. We talked about a whole range of things and it was enjoyable. The plan was to go to an exhibition at the same place that we went this morning, the one where we were in the wrong place. So we knew how to get there now at least.

When we got there it was kinda disappointing because it was a 3D film which only accomplishment was to make my eyes hurt. It was really bad and after watching it and talking about it for a while then we left to go and buy me some blankets because I would not freeze this night! I found some really good ones at Hemtex for a really cheap price and I thought that they would either way, make a good addition to my new apartment when I get back to Gotland. When we got back to the hostel we talked to the nice reception lady again and she said that she did not have our number but that she had found a blanket for me. This made me happy because I am not going to freeze tonight. Tomorrow is a new day and we are going to be doing something related to Technological performance and storytelling.

Tallinn is awesome! the mixture of new and old is quite weird but in a good way πŸ™‚ maybe I should do a post all about Tallinn when I get back with pictures and all that.

I better tie this sack together now and I hope that this was not too long… I am dreading how long it’s going to be tomorrow πŸ˜› but we’ll see if there is anything worth mentioning. Laters!

Leave a comment